Horsing Around and Annie’s First Bath!

by Rose

This afternoon we bathed two of our horses, Annie and Yola, then applied a mixture of Butox, Asuntol and Enicima and mineral oil to their coats. This is a mixture that is supposed to help the horses’ fungal infection which is caused by the rain. It was recommended by our veterniary. My Mother has tried other various recommendations by the locals, but to no avail.

My Mother who spent much of her youth with horses says she has never seen a skin condition like this. Of course, we are in Panama now and have a variety of diseases, which are different from the ones in the states.

Here is my Mother’s horse, Meridian, her face is badly affected by this infection

Annie is my filly. She is not as affected by the fungal infection, as Meridan and our other horse. The veterniary said some horses are more resistant to it than others, however it is a good idea to put it on all horses during the rainy season.

Steve gave Annie to me as a present, to commerate our second anniversary. Annie had never been touched by a human up until the end of August, until I first started working with her. In spite of all the hospitalizations and time constraints in this household, Annie has done remarkably well with her training- either she is a quick study or I am the next horse whisperer (Ha-ha!).

Annie awaiting her very first bath today (“Help! I am being held hostage” she says!)

My parents horse Yola awaiting her bath (She doesn’t mind a bath)

Annie watching Yola getting her bath so she knows how it is done; Danilo bathing Yola

I hope you all have had a great start to your week. You are in our thoughts and prayers.

Blessings to you all my dear ones, Rose 

