Prayers and Peace for Our Friend Mike

by Rose

-This is a special post dedicated to our dear friend Mike, who is having surgery due to cancer this morning at 5:30 a.m.-

Dear Mike,

Smith and I were listening to a song called “Daystar (Shine Down on Me)” by the Cathedrals this past weekend. There is a phrase in the song which had never caught my attention before and it goes like this…

“Lead me Lord,  I’m willing….  anywhere,  you open up the door…”…

I could not help but thinking about the meaning of that in our lives… It seems we are always willing and content, to be led through a door that is sunny and bright on the other side, but a door that is dark and dismal, who wants to go through that door…? Seriously now. Who is immediately happy about that?

I thought of my Father who is also facing a new diagnosis of cancer…  Should he look at his diagnosis of cancer with hope and optimism that the Lord is in charge of his life and since the Lord is the one who has opened the door, should he not walk through it willingly in courage or better yet be carried in the his heavenly Fathers arms in comfort, as the children of Israel were carried in the desert (Deuteronomy 1:31)? And as his daughter, do I grieve and get angry because my Father is still young and has yet to see all of his grandchildren born and fill out his days on this earth as a man still bestowing his blessing on his family… or as a woman of Faith, should I not surrender to the beauty of Psalm 139 and the other Scriptures that comfort us, that there is One greater than us, who leads and directs us through this life:

O LORD, You have searched me and known me.
 You know my sitting down and my rising up;
         You understand my thought afar off.
  You comprehend my path and my lying down,
         And are acquainted with all my ways.
  For there is not a word on my tongue,
         But behold, O LORD, You know it altogether.
  You have hedged me behind and before,
         And laid Your hand upon me.
  Such knowledge is too wonderful for me;
         It is high, I cannot attain it. 
         
  Where can I go from Your Spirit?
         Or where can I flee from Your presence?
  If I ascend into heaven, You are there;
         If I make my bed in hell, behold, You are there.
  If I take the wings of the morning,
         And dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea,
  Even there Your hand shall lead me,
         And Your right hand shall hold me.
 If I say, “Surely the darkness shall fall on me,”
         Even the night shall be light about me;
  Indeed, the darkness shall not hide from You,
         But the night shines as the day;
         The darkness and the light are both alike to You.
         
  For You formed my inward parts;
         You covered me in my mother’s womb.
 I will praise You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
         Marvelous are Your works,
         And that my soul knows very well.
  My frame was not hidden from You,
         When I was made in secret,
         And skillfully wrought in the lowest parts of the earth.
  Your eyes saw my substance, being yet unformed.
         And in Your book they all were written,
         The days fashioned for me,
         When as yet there were none of them. 
         
 How precious also are Your thoughts to me, O God!
         How great is the sum of them!
  If I should count them, they would be more in number than the sand;
         When I awake, I am still with You. Psalm 139:1-18

or

A man’s heart plans his way; But the LORD directs his steps…. Proverbs 16:9

or

The LORD makes firm the steps, of the one who delights in him; 
though he may stumble, he will not fall,
   for the LORD upholds him with his hand…. Psalm 37:23,24.

or

Are not two sparrows sold for a penny? Yet not one of them will fall to the ground outside your Father’s care.

 And even the very hairs of your head are all numbered. So do not be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows.

Matthew 10:29-31.

 Mike, I just wanted to share with you some of my thoughts, as I sort out the things that are happening in our own family, in my Fathers life and in our faith. I do believe there is much comfort, much hope and much to learn, in the  midst of the storms and rough roads ahead. It will not be easy at times, but we have each other and the Almighty who leads us, in Him we must trust and lean on in faith, as we walk anywhere with Him through each and every door He brings us to.

Please know our hearts, our thoughts and prayers are for you and your family, even though there are many miles that separate us at this time….

And dear friends and family and readers, as you pray so fervently for my Father and family, please also direct your prayers and thoughts towards our friend Mike and his family as well.

(And  know if any of you ever have a prayer request, please always feel free to contact me, so we can pray along with you, as your sister and brothers in the Lord…)

Much love and peace to each of you,

Rose and Smith

 We have also a more sure word of prophecy; whereunto ye do well that ye take heed,

as unto a light that shineth in a dark place, until the day dawn, and the Daystar arise in your hearts.

 2 Peter 1:19.

